Riding Diaries, Lesson 11: Simple Love

I came into today’s lesson with a sore behind from being on sea doos at the lake for the 4th. I wasn’t sure how pleasant (or rather not) the lesson would be. On top of that, I’ve been thinking about stopping lessons here for a while so that I can just go riding. There are many places in the area that let you take 1 hour horseback rides through various hills, trails, etc. My schedule and budget wouldn’t allow for both, and I feel this is what I’m meant to do next. I wasn’t sure how to tell my instructor that though – because that would mean lessening on lessons with her.

We went into the large arena. Marigold and I have a good rhythm at trotting speed, widening the circle, and make turns now. Even with me steering without my instructor holding the lead rope. Marigold was started a few times by a cawing crow, tripping, and what not, which made for another interesting adventure.

At the end of the lesson, I placed her into a stable and then we just stood there facing each other. She was nuzzling me and there was a point where her nose and my mouth almost touched. I understand that the nose/mouth area of a horse is like hands of a human, so I found this to be very special and intimate. I told Marigold that I loved her and this continued, and then we both went on our way.

I don’t know where to go from here. Do I continue taking lessons when I can the rest of this summer? Do I instead go for rides? Do I continue at all? I had recently made a promise to myself to let myself be led by horses, but I feel that I don’t know which way or where to go at this point. Will let it settle a bit and see.

2 thoughts on “Riding Diaries, Lesson 11: Simple Love

  1. You’ll know what to do. I suggest a trail ride to see how you like it. Where the regular lessons come in handy is feeling the horse better, so that if something occurs, you may react properly. Still, that takes a long time to cultivate. So I say, yes, go with what your heart tells you!

Join the Conversation

