The Secret to Soaring

“When you get to the end of all the light you know and it’s time to step into the darkness of the unknown, faith is knowing that one of two things shall happen: either you will be given something solid to stand on, or you will be taught how to fly.” – Edward Teller

Image

The above quote is true beyond my understanding. Two nights ago I had a flying dream. You know, the kind where you whiz through rooms, doors, landscapes, and so forth. As a child I would find myself waking up on the floor or trying to jump off my bed only to find myself again, on the floor. This one was unlike any of the previous though.

Besides going through an entire dome of a city and surrounding countryside, this time I noticed that I was able to fly higher and swifter than ever before. I came to the realization that what caused this was the practice of filling myself with joy and gratitude. When I found myself losing air, that was all I had to do. Sounds Peter Pan-ish, huh? Yet it never felt more real, to the point that I thought I would literally be able to fly when I woke up. I even found myself sister somehow in this dream, sitting nonchalantly at a cafe, and shared the news.

Now, I don’t normally remember nor do usually pay attention to my dreams, but this week has been different and am sharing this one in the hopes that the insight may be helpful to others too. Simply this:

When we fill ourselves with joy and gratitude – no matter what the circumstance – we will be able to soar and see beyond what we could have ever imagined.

It’s as easy and challenging as that. The photo above was from a postcard a friend sent me a few years ago. I guess all I’ve really ever wanted to do is fly. Good thing literally isn’t the only way.

Join the Conversation

