cricketed

I wrote a previous post about my struggles with crickets. Crickets, I know! I much preferred to squash them rather than try to catch them to set them free. I see now they represent something much more in my life – allowing things to be as they are, rather than cutting them off because they make me uncomfortable. The below expresses a bit of this journey. Thanks, cricket.

You appeared
Unassuming
Flickered
There

This was the moment
I would catch you now
Beyond the fear
I wanted to set you free

The bits it took
I just watched you there
My first attempt
Should I turn around?

I caught you now
You squirmed a so
Jumping in my closed palm
Fears they rose again

But then you calmed
And just sat in there
Until I came to the front
And let you go

Your stilling
Stilled me so
It was really you who
Set me free

Join the Conversation

