cricket

I wanted to catch you
Bring you back outside
I was afraid
You were foreign, unexpected, unwelcome

You wouldn’t have hurt me
You were just a little lost
You didn’t even know
You only wanted to hop around

I couldn’t fathom you in my hands
I couldn’t handle it
I had to end it
You’re gone

What fun we might have had
If I simply let you play a bit
What might I have discovered
If I just helped you be free?

Your friend came along
My mom wiser she saw
She gave the chance
I’ll be braver you’ll see

2 thoughts on “cricket

  1. Pingback: cricketed | A Captivated Soul

Join the Conversation

